Sunday Supper

grandpa jonesWhen I was growing up, we always watched Hee Haw on Saturday nights. Every week they would feature a Hey Grandpa, What’s for Supper? segment. http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=hee+haw+grandpa+what’s+for+supper&FORM=VIRE1#view=detail&mid=9A57899B6F0D3FCA12859A57899B6F0D3FCA1285

It was my favorite part of the show. Grandpa Jones would reel off a menu that included road kill and weird combinations of southern dishes. It made me giggle each time I watched him.

Tonight at our house, we are having a meal that might make Grandpa turn a backflip. We are having Carolina Pulled Pork, Butter Beans, Collard Greens, Fried Apples, Cornbread, Sweet Tea (of course!) and chocolate pie.

So, in keeping with tradition, I want to ask you, “Hey friend, what’s for supper?” All you have to do is enter it in the comment section and post. If you are planning a gourmet meal or Yankee food (heaven forbid), please give us a shout out. A good southern cook never turns down a creative menu, even from her Yankee friends. Recipes are welcome, too!

Happy eating, if you want to know how to cook any of the dishes I am having, let me know.   P.S. please help us gain readers. Pass this blog on to your friends and family.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Supper

  1. It is with Yankee pride that I tell you we’re having brined pork steaks. Having sampled my mother’s on a recent visit home, I am now a brine-loving-fool and nothing is safe from my seasoned salt water!

      • We grilled. But my mother assures me baking works as well. When I called her to rave about the results tonight, she informed me they’re brining their Thanksgiving turkey for six hours before roasting. Apparently the sugar/salt ratio is usually equal, but for a turkey she is only using half the amount of sugar so the meat won’t be overly sweet because of the length of time it will be in the brine. I’m smitten with the process!

  2. Pingback: The Last Supper | Cheri Speak

  3. More than likely a fried bologna sandwich! I’m still at work. Wish I could have been there for your supper! Did you drink the pot liquor or is that just with turnip greens?

Leave a Reply

